Skip to content

>Book Review : Seaside Letters by Denise Hunter

September 27, 2009

>
Denise Hunter is one of my very favorite authors and Seaside Letters was every bit as wonderful as I expected it to be!

Denise has the most incredible talent for developing characters that completely capture your heart and stay with you long after you’ve read the book. It is very rare that I get weepy over a book, but with her books I always find myself laughing and crying right along with the character. I also make a point to choose her books on a weekend because I know that once I pick it up, I will get so totally invested in the story that I will not be able to put it down until the end. Seaside Letters had me hooked from the start and didn’t let go! Sabrina is the main character and I just loved this character and could relate to her on so many levels. She also reminded me of some very valuable lessons in this book that I needed to hear again. I loved this book and highly recommend it!

There is a reason I have kept this review very vague about the story itself. Those of you who read the ending of a book first will think I’m crazy, but when one of my favorite authors comes out with a new book, I don’t want to know anything about the book before I read it. I purposely choose not to read the back of the book and avoid any book reviews for that book until I have read it. That is what I did with Seaside Letters. I did not know a thing about the story before I opened up the book and read it. There are so many surprises in this book that are just so much better if you don’t know them ahead of time. I have included the book summary below if you want to know a little about the story. But, if you want my advice, don’t read the blurbs, just go buy the book and read it! Trust me, it’s an incredible story and you will enjoy it more if you don’t know any of the surprises before hand. Denise is a very gifted author and this book is going in a very small stack of books that I will want to read again and again!!

Book Description:
Their letters could lead to lasting love . . . or expose Sabrina’s mortifying secret. Sabrina Kincaid didn’t intend to fall for Nantucket native Tucker McCabe, the man she serves coffee to every morning—a man tied to a past she deeply regrets. But she has. And she’s fallen hard. But she’s kept this a secret from her handsome customer. And now Tucker wants to hire Sabrina to help locate his friend “Sweetpea”—the mysterious woman he’s falling in love with online. Sabrina is not inclined to help, but if Tucker hires someone else, it could spell disaster. Because if someone else sifted through the emails and figured out the truth—then Tucker would discover that the person he’s trying to find is . . . her.

Check out Denise’s website here.

And you can check out the Girl’s Write Out blog here.


Blessings,

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 12:05 am

    >I love Densie Hunter too and will definitely be reading this one.

  2. September 28, 2009 1:07 am

    >I love this author and just order the book last week! I cannot wait to read it.

  3. September 28, 2009 2:35 pm

    >I just finished reviewing this book as well and I think I wrote the same thing you did. I'm an avid reader but this is a book that I have to say has to be one of my all time favorites. It is an easy read because it flows so well. I look forward to reading more from Denise Hunter.

  4. September 30, 2009 5:50 am

    >This is my new fave book by Denise Hunter ~ I just finished it last week! =)My review is here:http://someofmyfavoritebooks.blogspot.com/2009/09/seaside-letters-by-denise-hunter.htmlThanks for sharing ~ Lori

  5. October 1, 2009 2:26 am

    >I'm needing a new book and i hope i can remember the name of it! Ha.The cover is so cute so hopefully that will save me. :)

  6. February 2, 2010 7:10 pm

    >Sounds awesome. I must add this to my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

